Cath & Phil Tyler – The Ox and the Ax [THR003]
£15.00 - £50.00

  • Cath & Phil Tyler – The Ox and the Ax <small>[THR003]</small>
  • Cath & Phil Tyler – The Ox and the Ax <small>[THR003]</small>
  • Cath & Phil Tyler – The Ox and the Ax <small>[THR003]</small>
  • Cath & Phil Tyler – The Ox and the Ax <small>[THR003]</small>

Cath & Phil Tyler – The Ox and the Ax [THR003]
£15.00 - £50.00

• LP includes download code for MP3, FLAC and more
• Postage/shipping estimate shown in basket
• Further postage information here

Also available via: Bandcamp | Norman Records | All major streaming platforms

CD edition available via: Cath & Phil Tyler

Cath and Phil Tyler play Anglo-American folk music using guitar, banjo, voice and fiddle. Cath was a member of the band Cordelia’s Dad when she lived in Massachusetts, USA in the 1990s. Phil, from Newcastle upon Tyne, UK, has played in various folk, rock and ceilidh bands for many years. Coming together musically through a shared love of traditional narrative song, Sacred Harp singing and sparse mountain banjo, they have performed on stages as diverse as the Royal Opera House in London, and Morden Tower on the old city walls of Newcastle.

The Ox and the Ax is Cath and Phil Tyler's third album and their first in over eight years.


  1. The Two Sisters - A Fisherman's Song for Attracting Seals
  2. Finest Flower
  3. Rainbow
  4. Rained a Mist
  5. King Henry
  6. Lady Dysie
  7. Song of the Lower Classes
  8. Wallington
  9. Talk About Suffering


Album of the Year 2018, Runner Up – fRoots

Albums of the Year 2018 – Folk Radio

Simultaneously deadpan yet breezy, dark yet light, monotone yet colourful, 'The Ox and the Ax' is both a great British folk album and a unique synthesis of opposites ★★★★ Songlines

Of the many artists currently working with the warp and weft of traditional folk, Cath & Phil are one of the closest to the source 8/10 UNCUT

Folk balladry has rarely been performed with such commitment and intensity ★★★★ Record Collector

Strikingly raw ★★★★ MOJO

The Ox and the Ax’s wider impact on the British roots scene will be felt for years to come ★★★★★ RNR


Produced and digitally mastered by Phil Begg at ICMuS
Mastered for vinyl by Peter Fletcher at Black Bay Studio
Artwork by David Hand

Pressing Information

Co-released with Crowfoot Records
Catalogue Number: THR003
LP Edition: 300 copies
Released: 30 March, 2018

More in LP View All